Artbook can order English books according to our customers' needs

The Mindfulness Survival Kit: Five Essential Practices

SKU: 9781937006341 Supplier: Parallax Press Out of stock


Author: Thich Nhat Hanh

Format:  Paperback | 160 pages

Dimensions: 134 x 165 x 16mm | 170g

Publication date:7 Mar 2014

The Five Mindfulness Trainings (also referred to as "Precepts")&;not to kill, steal, commit adultery, lie, or take intoxicants&;are the basic statement of ethics and morality in Buddhism. Zen Master and peace activist Thich Nhat Hanh argues eloquently for their applicability in our daily lives and on a global scale. Nhat Hanh discusses the value and meaning of each precept, offering insights into the role that it could play in our changing society.

Thich Nhat Hanh calls the trainings a "diet for a mindful society." With this book he offers a Buddhist contribution to the current thinking on how we can come together to define secular, moral guidelines that will allow us to explore and sustain a sane, compassionate, and healthy way of living. The Five Mindfulness Trainings offer a path to restoring meaning and value in our world, whether called virtues, ethics, moral conduct, or precepts they are guidelines for living without bringing harm to others.


 The Mindfulness Survival Kit: Five Essential Practices